Your Joy May Be Complete

I had the pleasure of visiting “Mother’s House” a few weeks back. For those of you who do not know what that is, it is the home that Mother Teresa set up right here in Kolkata. Teresa is not her real name and she is Albanian born. From a very young age she knew that she would serve and that she did. For over 50 years she led a very simple life, shying away from publicity except when her superiors asked her to make public appearances. Although this was the least favourite of her work she was obedient as it was all part of the plan. 

I was at a team meeting the other day and reminded while watching a video that purpose comes in many different forms. Purpose does not all look the same when hearing the call. When I think about being here in Kolkata and being called to work with girls rescued from human trafficking I could not have answered the call alone. It would not have been possible without the support of others who were called to help out financially. I personally do not know how to create a blog nor did I have the time to figure it out before coming here. Thanks to Brooke who created this web page and hearing the call to support I am able to connect with everyone in one place who have a vested interest in this plan. What about my family? Had they not heard the call they may not have agreed to me coming here. The people who bridge the gap between here and there and every where else in prayer. It really does take a community to raise a child. We are all affecting the lives of these girls by the small part each of us plays by listening to the call and fulfilling the plan. I can tell you that seeing a smile on these girls faces every morning is part of the plan. 

I have heard that other government homes for rescued girls in Kolkata are not like this one and the difference in where the girl is placed is noticeable. Had Smita not heard the call Mahima would not have been born. These girls are precious and I want to instill in them that they have purpose.

Someone recently suggested that when I leave here there will still be more girls coming and people will still be trafficking innocent victims and questioned if what I was doing here was really changing anything.

Love always changes things.

Part of the calling of Mahima is to raise these girls up to change their environment in whatever way that means to their own specific calling through vocational training, education, becoming a loving and caring mother who will educate her village on human trafficking and most importantly healing.
If we could all open our hearts to hear…..

“I alone cannot change the world but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples”

– Mother Teresa

image
"I Thirst"
2 thoughts on “Your Joy May Be Complete

  1. Bev Hopkins

    I am so proud of you Angela.I knew from the day we meet,that you had a Loving heart .I know you were inspired by our work in Belize but you have found your own path of giving,sharing and have soared beyond .You are truly brave and a role model of how we can all share love in this harsh world!
    Travel safe and namaste!

    Like

Comments are closed.